bubbles Architecture – Norman Foster (2004) The 30 St Mary Axe – London

Share Button


The 30 St Mary Axe
The Gherkin


The 30 St Mary Axe
(ou Swiss Re Building) is a building located in the business district of the City of London in England. In reference to its shape, Londoners have become accustomed to call the Gherkin (the Gherkin).


History The building is on the former Baltic Exchange building site, the headquarters of a global market for sales of ships and maritime.datant Information 1903, the Provisional IRA detonated a bomb near the Bourse, severely damaging the historic stock exchange building and neighboring structures. and which had been damaged by a terrorist attack in 1992,
The building received the Emporis Skyscraper Award 2003 rewarding the most outstanding skyscraper of the year 2003 as well as numerous other awards such as the Stirling Prize and the London Region Award due to its design and energy saving. It was opened on 28 avril 2004 and was designed by Norman Foster's architectural firm for Swiss Re. It is the first skyscraper built in the neighborhood for years 1970 and was the highest building construction in the city before the construction of the tower The Shard. Its designers claim the title of first ecological skyscraper in the UK. In November 2014, it is acquired by Safra group 726 £ millions , the German real estate group IVG Immobilien, who had acquired 2007.

Architecture Inside, the floors are organized in six-pointed star for all local benefits from external light. Top of 180 meters and 41 floors, its aerodynamic shape allows the use of the wind in the ventilation system of the building, summer and winter ; this form employs cells, a spiral façade structure and the form of a pickle (gherkin). Between 12 and 25 ° C and a moderate wind, Weather Stations manage open windows. If the temperature is below or above these temperatures, natural ventilation is supplemented by heating or cooling of the air. The ventilation and the internal organization of the premises allow energy savings. The idea of ​​making a building environmentally also results in the near absence of self parking (18 places) the benefit of a large park for bikes. This encourages employees of companies based in the skyscraper to use public transport or cycling ; which enhances the traffic control policy implemented by the municipality in central London in the form of a toll. The project illustrates the experience of Norman Foster in terms of building height, renewable energy, in the wake of the Commerzbank Tower Francfort2.




Workers abseil at the top of Swiss Re 'Gherkin building in London in this photo 14 January 2004.



Photographer: Jason Alden / Bloomberg
Photographer: Jason Alden/Bloomberg



The characteristics of the building is a cigar-shaped structure, glass façade with panels shaped losange.La tower facade is a double glass shell allows natural ventilation of the building.
Its spiral facade fitted with sockets allows ventilation run by weather stations that direct the opening and closing of fenêtres.À inside, the stages are organized in six-pointed star in order to make the most of the angle 360 ​​° and benefit to all of the local light extérieure.Le top of the tower has a bar coated with a conical dome glass. One benefit of a complete panorama of the city of London. This bar is for residents or reservation for a reception.

Skyscrapers are built outside the historic center of the city of London. The Gherkin was the first to break the silhouette of the buildings of downtown London. He acted as a catalyst for the construction of a set of skyscrapers in the City of London. The singular silhouette of the tower Gerkhin is easily identifiable in the landscape of London and this from any point of the capital. Its particular shape makes it a singular object which contrasts with the set of historical buildings area.

The Gherkin Swiss Re building St Mary Axe London








BONUS


DESIGNER’
Ross Lovegrove, British industrial designer who worked on the design of Sony Walkmans and on the iMac computer from Apple including, proposes a concept of amazing green urban transport : transparent car fuel bubble-shaped solar, the roof is covered with solar panels. 4 passengers can be transported : their business can also be stored. Navigation is done automatically by voice command and satellite. The night, parking takes another form, it is the height : the car is placed on a telescopic pole that then rises a few meters. guaranteed in city space saving ! A precision : the post also serves as a lamp to illuminate the street ! Hence the name of this concept : “Car on a Stick”, “Car on a stick”. A green UFO in the city, he was thinking ! You can find all the works of Ross Lovegrove on its website : www.rosslovegrove.com





 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Bulles Architecture – Norman Foster (2004) Le 30 St Mary Axe – London
Virginie Maneval

Share Button


Le 30 St Mary Axe
The Gherkin


Le 30 St Mary Axe
(ou Swiss Re Building) est une construction située dans le quartier d’affaires de la City de Londres en Angleterre. En référence à sa forme, les Londoniens ont pris l’habitude de l’appeler the Gherkin (le cornichon).


Histoire Le bâtiment se trouve sur l’ancien site du bâtiment Baltic Exchange, le siège d’un marché mondial pour les ventes de navires et d’information maritime.datant de 1903, l’IRA provisoire fait exploser une bombe près de la Bourse, endommageant gravement le bâtiment historique de la Bourse et les structures voisines. et qui avait été endommagé par une attaque terroriste en 1992,
Le bâtiment a reçu l’Emporis Skyscraper Award 2003 récompensant le gratte-ciel le plus remarquable de l’année 2003 ainsi que de nombreuses autres récompenses telles que le Stirling Prize et le London Region Award dues à son design et son économie d’énergie. Il a été ouvert le 28 avril 2004 et a été conçu par le cabinet d’architectes de Norman Foster pour Swiss Re. Il est le premier gratte-ciel construit dans le quartier depuis les années 1970 et était la plus haute construction immobilière de la ville avant la construction de la tour The Shard. Ses concepteurs revendiquent le titre de premier gratte-ciel écologique du Royaume-Uni. En novembre 2014, il est acquis par le groupe Safra pour 726 millions de £ , au groupe immobilier allemand IVG Immobilien, qui l’avait acquis en 2007.

Architecture À l’intérieur, les étages sont organisés en étoile à six branches pour que l’ensemble des locaux bénéficie de la lumière extérieure. Haut de 180 mètres et de 41 étages, sa forme aérodynamique permet d’utiliser le vent dans le système de ventilation de l’immeuble, été comme hiver ; cette forme emploie des alvéoles, une structure de façade en spirale et la forme d’un cornichon (gherkin). Entre 12 et 25 °C et avec un vent modéré, des stations météo gèrent l’ouverture des fenêtres. Si la température varie en dessous ou au-dessus de ces températures, la ventilation naturelle est complétée par le chauffage ou le rafraîchissement de l’air. Le système de ventilation et l’organisation interne des locaux permettent des économies d’énergie. L’idée d’en faire un immeuble respectant l’environnement aboutit également à la quasi-absence de parcs de stationnement auto (18 places) au profit d’un grand parc pour vélos. Ceci incite les employés des entreprises installées dans le gratte-ciel à utiliser les transports en commun ou le vélo ; ce qui renforce la politique de limitation de la circulation automobile mise en place par la municipalité dans le centre de Londres sous la forme d’un péage. Le projet illustre l’expérience de Norman Foster en matière d’édifice en hauteur, à énergie renouvelable, dans le sillage de la Commerzbank Tower de Francfort2.




Les travailleurs descendre en rappel au sommet du bâtiment Swiss Re ‘Gherkin à Londres dans cette photo du 14 janvier 2004.



Photographe: Jason Alden / Bloomberg

Photographer: Jason Alden/Bloomberg



Les caractéristiques de l’édifice est une structure en forme de cigare, une façade en verre avec des panneaux en forme de losange.La façade de la tour est une double coque en verre qui permet la ventilation naturelle du bâtiment.
Sa façade en forme de spirale munie d’alvéoles permet une aération gérée par des stations météo qui dirigent l’ouverture et la fermeture des fenêtres.À l’intérieur, les étages sont organisés en étoile à six branches afin de profiter au maximum de l’angle à 360° et faire bénéficier à l’ensemble des locaux de la lumière extérieure.Le sommet de la tour abrite un bar recouvert d’un dôme conique en verre. On bénéfice d’un panorama complet de la ville de Londres. Ce bar est réservé aux résidents ou sur réservation pour une réception.

Des gratte-ciels sont construits en dehors du centre historique de la ville de Londres. Le Gherkin a été le premier à rompre la silhouette des bâtiments du centre-ville de Londres. Il a agi comme un catalyseur pour la construction d’un ensemble de gratte-ciels dans la City of London. La silhouette singulière de la tour Gerkhin est facilement identifiable dans le paysage de Londres et ceci depuis tout point de la capitale. Sa forme particulière en fait un objet singulier qui contraste avec l’ensemble des constructions historiques du quartier.

The Gherkin Swiss Re building St Mary Axe London








BONUS


DESIGNER’
Ross Lovegrove, designer industriel britannique ayant travaillé sur la conception des baladeurs Sony et sur l’ordinateur iMac d’Apple notamment, propose un concept de transport urbain écolo étonnant : une voiture transparente en forme de bulle carburant à l’énergie solaire, son toit étant recouvert de panneaux solaires. 4 passagers peuvent être transportés : leurs affaires peuvent également être stockées. La navigation s’effectue automatiquement par commande vocale et par satellite. La nuit, le stationnement prend une autre forme, il se fait en hauteur : la voiture est placée sur un poteau téléscopique qui s’élève ensuite à quelques mètres. Gain de place en ville garanti ! Une précision : le poteau sert aussi de lampadaire pour éclairer la rue ! D’où le nom de ce concept : « Car on a Stick », « Voiture sur un bâton ». Un ovni vert dans la ville, il fallait y penser ! Vous pouvez retrouver toutes les oeuvres de Ross Lovegrove sur son site Internet : www.rosslovegrove.com




 

Share Button
 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *