East Beach Cafe (2005-2007) Thomas Heatherwick Studio – Littlehampton, UK

Share Button

Thomas Heatherwick

East Beach Cafe

Littlehampton, United Kingdom

Architecte Thomas Heatherwick Studio.

2005-2007



In Britain Century IXXième, seaside towns such as Blackpool and Skegness have been visited by thousands of tourists, bringing prosperity and fame of those cities but, after years 1970, declining fortunes. Residents of Littlehampton, Jane Wood and Sophie Murray, decided to replace their fries kiosk, hamburgers and ice cream with a new coffee.

They asked Heatherwick Studio to design the.

The entire steel structure was fabricated in sections by Littlehampton Welding by only two men. While the & rsquo; outside is weathered crude metal, l & rsquo; interior has been sprayed with rigid insulating foam.
The East Beach Cafe is open and there are often queues d & rsquo; waiting to enter. In addition to serving a loyal local clientele, high quality kitchen attracts visitors from all & rsquo; England.
















PHOTOS
ANDY STAGG



The longest bench in Britain was opened to the public in Littlehampton, in West Sussex, the 30 July 2010. The bench can accommodate more 300 people along the promenade of Littlehampton, overlooking the award-winning Blue Flag beach town. designed by Studio Weave, the structure moves sinuously along the promenade..

The bench is made from thousands of tropical hardwood slats. The wood is recovered 100% from sources, including former ears of sea and saved from landfill. Tropical hardwoods are among the most robust and durable woods in the world and have proven in marine environments. The bank uses more & rsquo; & rsquo a dozen; different species arranged to express the natural variation in color and tone from pale blond up & rsquo; hot pink and rich brown.
The great variety of reclaimed wood are interspersed with touches of bright color wherever the bench shimmying, bends or dips. The colored bars are made from stainless steel boxes soaked nylon-11, a polymeric enamel. The bars with bright colors are arranged to create a set of subtly changing colors ranging from pink, the yellow and the & rsquo; orange to & rsquo; end is purple, blue and green to & rsquo; West. The support structure for the bench is made of stainless steel, 100% recyclable and average 70% recycled materials (Steel Construction Institute).







 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

East Beach Cafe (2005-2007) Thomas Heatherwick Studio – Littlehampton, UK
Virginie Maneval

Share Button

Thomas Heatherwick

East Beach Cafe

 Littlehampton, United Kingdom 

Architecte Thomas Heatherwick Studio.

2005-2007



Dans la Grande-Bretagne du IXXième Siècle, les Villes balnéaires comme Blackpool et Skegness ont été visitées par des milliers de vacanciers, apportant la prospérité et la renommée de ces villes mais, après les années 1970, leur fortune déclinait. Les résidents de Littlehampton, Jane Wood et Sophie Murray, ont décidé de remplacer leur kiosque de frites, de hamburgers et de glaces par un nouveau café.

Ils ont demandé à Heatherwick Studio de le concevoir.

Toute la structure métallique a été fabriquée en sections par Littlehampton Welding par seulement deux hommes. Alors que l’extérieur est en métal brut patiné, l’intérieur a été pulvérisé avec de la mousse isolante rigide.
Le East Beach Café est ouvert et il y a souvent des files d’attente pour y entrer. En plus de servir une clientèle locale fidèle, la cuisine de haute qualité attire des visiteurs de toute l’Angleterre.
















PHOTOS
ANDY STAGG



Le plus long banc de Grande-Bretagne a été ouvert au public à Littlehampton, dans le West Sussex, le 30 juillet 2010. Le banc peut accueillir plus de 300 personnes le long de la promenade de Littlehampton, surplombant la plage primée Pavillon bleu de la ville. Conçue par Studio Weave, la structure se déplace sinueusement le long de la promenade..

Le banc est fabriqué à partir de milliers de lattes de bois dur tropical. Le bois est récupéré à 100% à partir de sources, y compris les anciens épis de bord de mer et sauvé de la décharge. Les bois durs tropicaux comptent parmi les bois les plus robustes et durables du monde et ils ont fait leurs preuves dans les environnements marins. Le banc utilise plus d’une douzaine d’espèces différentes disposées pour exprimer la variation naturelle de la couleur et du ton depuis les blonds pâles jusqu’aux roses chaudes et aux riches bruns.
La belle variété de bois récupérés sont entrecoupées de touches de couleurs vives partout où le banc se trémousse, se penche ou plonge. Les barres colorées sont fabriquées à partir de caissons en acier inoxydable trempés dans du Nylon-11, un émail polymère. Les barres aux couleurs vives sont agencées pour créer un jeu de couleurs subtilement changeantes allant du rose, du jaune et de l’orange à l’extrémité est au violet, au bleu et au vert à l’ouest. La structure de support pour le banc est en acier inoxydable, 100% recyclable et en moyenne 70% de matériaux recyclés (Steel Construction Institute).







 

Share Button
 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *