Harry Gessner (1925) Architect, Visionary – Malibu, THAT

Share Button

Harold “Harry” Gesner (1925) Californian architect.


Born and raised in Southern California, his creations can be found in places such as Malibu and the Getty Museum. After serving in the U.S. military during World War II ,
H. Gesner is a self-taught architect. Has become internationally known for his visionary style. Wave House (1957) was the inspiration of Danish architect Jørn Utzon for the Sydney Opera House.


Film, Harry Gessner “Architect, Environmentalist, Visionary”
par Eric Minh Swenson











Harry Gesner, a modern Malibu architect, old from 90 years, is dedicated to the environment and disregard of conventions. Instead of following Frank Lloyd Wright's offer to study at Taliesin, he spent years learning the building trades, a handyman attitude that inspired his own unorthodox projects. Almost born surfer – he was taught by lifeguards near his childhood home in Oxnard, in California – it became his passion and influenced the design of his most famous building, the Wave House roofs he first drew on the back of a surfboard with a grease pencil.






Harry Gesner
Plans ” The Cooper Wave House “ Malibu (1957-59)






 
















small + from the same Architect !


Imagined and designed by architect Harry Gesner :

This autonomous tent wants to combine luxury with mobility. No more stakes to plant with a hammer, the stones in the back and the humidity of the ground that freezes you at night! Rather, project yourself into a cocoon of more than sixty square meters, covered by a canvas stretched over a metal frame of steel and aluminum, all fixed on a raised wooden terrace. With the comfort of a real little home, this tent from a height under canvas of about 3,6 meters can be quickly set up and taken down, without the need for a foundation.
Of course, the tent is waterproof and promises to keep you dry even in heavy rain. For the more adventurous traveler, the habitat was even designed to withstand winds comparable to a hurricane (more than 90km / h) as well as heavy snow loads. Depending on the location chosen, ephemeral housing can even be connected to the electricity network, gas and running water. However in more isolated places, installation of small solar panels is possible in order to provide enough energy for LED lighting and a water heater. A system for filtering gray water from the shower and the sink can even be implemented, on demand.


TRY GLAMPING LUXE





 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Harry Gessner (1925) Architecte, Visionnaire – Malibu, CA
Virginie Maneval

Share Button

Harold « Harry » Gesner (1925)  Architecte Californien.


Né et élevé en Californie du Sud, ses créations se trouvent dans des endroits tels que Malibu et le Getty Museum.  Après avoir servi dans l’armée américaine pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale ,
H.Gesner est un architecte autodidacte. Est devenu internationalement connu pour son style visionnaire.  Wave House (1957) fut l’inspiration de l’architecte Danois Jørn Utzon pour l’opéra de Sydney.


Film, Harry Gessner  « Architecte, Environnementaliste, Visionnaire »
par Eric Minh Swenson











Harry Gesner, un architecte moderne de Malibu, vieux de 90 ans, se consacre à l’environnement et au mépris des conventions. Au lieu de suivre l’offre de Frank Lloyd Wright d’étudier à Taliesin, il a passé des années à apprendre les métiers du bâtiment, une attitude de bricoleur qui a inspiré ses propres projets peu orthodoxes. Surfeur presque né – il a été enseigné par des sauveteurs près de la maison de son enfance à Oxnard, en Californie – il est devenu sa passion et a influencé la conception de son bâtiment le plus célèbre, le Wave House toits qu’il a d’abord dessinés au dos d’une planche de surf avec un crayon gras.






Harry Gesner
Plans  » The Cooper Wave House «  Malibu (1957-59)



 




 
















petit + du même Architecte !


Imaginée et conçue par l’architecte Harry Gesner :

Cette tente autonome veut allier le luxe à la mobilité. Fini les piquets à planter au marteau, les cailloux dans le dos et l’humidité du sol qui vous glace la nuit! Projetez-vous plutôt dans un cocon de plus de soixante mètres carrés, couvert par une toile tendue sur une ossature métallique d’acier et d’aluminium, le tout fixé sur une terrasse en bois surélevée. Avec le confort d’un vrai petit logis, cette tente d’une hauteur sous toile d’environ 3,6 mètres peut être mise en place et démontée rapidement, sans qu’aucune fondation ne soit nécessaire.
Bien entendu, la tente est imperméable et promet de vous garder au sec même en cas de pluie battante. Pour les voyageurs les plus téméraires, l’habitat a même été conçu pour résister à des vents comparables à ceux d’un ouragan (plus de 90km/h) ainsi qu’à des lourdes charges de neige. Selon l’emplacement choisi, l’habitat éphémère peut même être relié au réseau d’électricité, de gaz et à l’eau courante. En revanche dans les lieux plus isolés, l’installation de petits panneaux solaires est possible afin de fournir suffisamment d’énergie pour un éclairage LED et un chauffe-eau. Un système de filtrage des eaux grises provenant de la douche et du lavabo peut même être mis en place, sur demande.


TENTE GLAMPING LUXE





 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *