Kazuyo Sejima et Ryue Nishizawa – SANAA Port Terminal for Naoshima Island, Japan.

Share Button


SANAA



Completes construction of cloud-shaped port terminal for Naoshima Island.
Famous for its contemporary art scene.

Japanese duo Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa and their company SANAA designed the terminal for passengers waiting to disembark, giving them a place to park their bike or motorbike or use the toilet before their trip.

It replaces an old terminal in the village of Honmura, one of the two main ports of the island located in the Seto Inland Sea, in Kagawa Prefecture, in Japan.

It is a landing point for tourists visiting Naoshima's contemporary art museums such as Tadao Ando's Chichu Art Museum, and his site-specific installations like Yayoi Kusama of Yellow Pumpkin Carving.


"We wanted to create a landmark for the inhabitants of the island as well as for visitors who are visiting the island for the first time, so that they can easily find the embarkation point for the ship ", said the studio.

“With this unique shape, people heading to the terminal or people approaching the terminal by boat can easily find the port, even from a distance”, he added.

"We hope this place will become a new symbol for the village where islanders and visitors can meet."


The high form of 8 meter is modeled on a cumulonimbus cloud and is made up of intersecting spheres of fiber-reinforced plastic spheres. Bulbous plastic structure is supported by a checkered wooden frame.

The semi-transparent shape shines like a beacon when the lights inside are illuminated at night.











Builds a small, cloud-shaped passenger terminal for a port on the Japanese island of Naoshima, famous for its contemporary art scene.


Japanese duo Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa and their company SANAA designed the terminal for passengers waiting to disembark, giving them a place to park their bike or motorbike or use the toilet before their trip.
It replaces an old terminal in the village of Honmura, one of the two main ports of the island located in the Seto Inland Sea, in Kagawa Prefecture, in Japan.
It is a landing point for tourists visiting Naoshima's contemporary art museums such as Tadao Ando's Chichu Art Museum, and his site-specific installations like Yayoi Kusama of Yellow Pumpkin Carving.


The high form of 8 meter is modeled on a cumulonimbus cloud and is made up of intersecting spheres of fiber-reinforced plastic spheres. Bulbous plastic structure is supported by a checkered wooden frame.


The semi-transparent shape shines like a beacon when the lights inside are illuminated at night.




 



 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Kazuyo Sejima et Ryue Nishizawa – Terminal Portuaire SANAA pour L’île de Naoshima, Japon.
avatar

Share Button


SANAA



Achève la construction d’un terminal portuaire en forme de nuage pour l’île de Naoshima.
Célèbre pour sa scène artistique contemporaine.

Le duo japonais Kazuyo Sejima et Ryue Nishizawa et leur société SANAA ont conçu le terminal pour les passagers en attente de débarquement, leur offrant ainsi une place pour garer leur vélo ou leur moto ou utiliser les toilettes avant leur voyage.

Il remplace un ancien terminal du village de Honmura, l’un des deux principaux ports de l’île situés dans la mer intérieure de Seto, dans la préfecture de Kagawa, au Japon.

Il est un point d’atterrissage pour les touristes visitant les musées d’art contemporain de Naoshima tels que Chichu Art Museum de Tadao Ando, et ses installations spécifiques au site comme Yayoi Kusama de jaune citrouille sculpture.


«Nous voulions créer un point de repère pour les habitants de l’île ainsi que pour les visiteurs qui visitent l’île pour la première fois, afin qu’ils puissent facilement trouver le point d’embarquement pour le navire», a déclaré le studio.

« Avec cette forme unique, les personnes qui se dirigent vers le terminal ou les personnes s’approchant du terminal par bateau peuvent facilement trouver le port, même à distance », a-t-il ajouté.

«Nous espérons que cet endroit deviendra un nouveau symbole pour le village où les insulaires et les visiteurs pourront se rencontrer.»


La forme haute de 8 mètres est modelée sur un cumulonimbus et est composée de sphères se croisant de sphères de plastique renforcées de fibres. La structure en plastique bulbeuse est soutenue par un cadre en bois quadrillé.

La forme semi-transparente brille comme un phare lorsque les lumières à l’intérieur sont éclairées la nuit.











Construit un petit terminal passagers en forme de nuage pour un port de l’île japonaise de Naoshima, célèbre pour sa scène artistique contemporaine.


Le duo japonais Kazuyo Sejima et Ryue Nishizawa et leur société SANAA ont conçu le terminal pour les passagers en attente de débarquement, leur offrant ainsi une place pour garer leur vélo ou leur moto ou utiliser les toilettes avant leur voyage.
Il remplace un ancien terminal du village de Honmura, l’un des deux principaux ports de l’île situés dans la mer intérieure de Seto, dans la préfecture de Kagawa, au Japon.
Il est un point d’atterrissage pour les touristes visitant les musées d’art contemporain de Naoshima tels que Chichu Art Museum de Tadao Ando, et ses installations spécifiques au site comme Yayoi Kusama de jaune citrouille sculpture.


La forme haute de 8 mètres est modelée sur un cumulonimbus et est composée de sphères se croisant de sphères de plastique renforcées de fibres. La structure en plastique bulbeuse est soutenue par un cadre en bois quadrillé.


La forme semi-transparente brille comme un phare lorsque les lumières à l’intérieur sont éclairées la nuit.




 



 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *