(2009-2018) by Foster and Partners – Canary Wharf Station Cross Rail, London

Share Button

One of the longest contiguous wooden roofs was used

to connect the overhead structure a station London Cross Rail


 


The last piece of aluminum was placed on the roof designed by Foster and Partners, marking the structural completion of the project which started in May 2009.

The roof will be located above a new rooftop garden and commercial development and recreational four-story 115 000 square foot Groupe Canary Wharf, including shops, restaurants, bars and a cinema.

The roof garden and the first phase of the commercial and leisure space will open in May 2015, three years before the passage of trains in the station.

Work began on the new station in May 2009 creating a waterproof barrier 250 m long and 30 m wide in the waters of North Dock, using an innovative method stacking "silent". The box of the station was then built "up and down" to 28 meters below the water surface to create levels of the ticket hall and platform.

The vault futuristic cradle wood glued panels and ETFE are leading an active transportation center and retail in East London. Sitting beneath’ a mixed-use development of five floors known as Crossrail Place, the new Canary Wharf station that connects this key business area of ​​the city of London, le West End et Heathrow. The station 250 meter long is surrounded by the water of West India Quay. Over a hundred thousand square feet of retail and leisure space is located above the station.
A wooden roof 310 meter, housing and surprising roof garden, allows you to light and rain for natural irrigation.


The wooden roof triangular tapes is curved around the building as a protective shell (figures 2 and 3). The roof of the cassette consists of 1418 fins glulam, connected by 564 steel joints. The transparent cover is made of ethylene cushions / tetrafluoroethylene (ETFE). The roof has a length of 310 m with a pitch of remarkable 30 m at both ends (figure 3). The wood was used to build the cassette not only for its traditional relationship with the history of the docks, but also for its combination of strength and usability. The use of wood helps meet customer demand for long-term sustainable building. In particular, wood can be processed economically and efficiently to maintain a curved shape of complex geometry.


The construction of Crossrail remains on time and within budget. Its tunnels program is completed over 80%. When Crossrail opens in 2018, it will increase 10% the ability of the London rail system and reduce journey times across the city, which will accommodate 1,5 million more people in 45 minutes from central London.

The station 256 m long surrounded by the water of West India Quay, and is located directly below five levels of mixed-use development that is now open to the public.

The station ticket hall is accessible by eight escalators at height from deck level entries at each end of the building. At the top of the station, a laminated roof 310 m long, housing a raised garden, lets light and rain for natural irrigation.

The pillows ETFE filled with translucent air allows a direct view inside and outside the building and the wooden beams sustainably sourced provide a natural and warm counterpoint to the glass and steel towers of Canary Wharf.








 

 



 







 






 

 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

(2009-2018) by Foster and Partners – Canary Wharf Station Cross Rail, London
Virginie Maneval

Share Button

L’un des plus longs toits en bois contigus a été utilisé

pour relier la structure aérienne d’une gare de London Cross Rail  


 


La dernière pièce en aluminium a été placée sur le toit conçu par Foster and Partners, marquant ainsi l’achèvement structurel du projet qui a débuté en mai 2009.

Le toit sera situé au-dessus d’un nouveau jardin sur le toit et du développement commercial et de loisirs de quatre étages de 115 000 pieds carrés du Groupe Canary Wharf, y compris des boutiques, des restaurants, des bars et un cinéma.

Le jardin sur le toit et la première phase de l’espace commercial et de loisirs ouvriront en mai 2015, trois ans avant le passage des trains dans la gare.

Les travaux ont débuté sur la nouvelle station en mai 2009 en créant un barrage étanche de 250 m de long et de 30 m de large dans les eaux de North Dock, en utilisant une méthode novatrice d’empilage «silencieux». La boîte de la station a ensuite été construite «de haut en bas» à 28 mètres sous la surface de l’eau pour créer les niveaux de la salle des billets et de la plate-forme.

La voûte en berceau futuriste en bois lamellé-collé et les panneaux ETFE sont en tête d’un centre de transport actif et de vente au détail à East London. Assis en dessous d’ un développement à usage mixte de cinq étages connu sous le nom Crossrail Place, la nouvelle station Canary Wharf permet de relier ce quartier d’affaires clés de la ville de Londres, le West End et Heathrow. La station de 250 mètres de long est entourée par l’eau du quai West India Quay. Plus de cent mille pieds carrés d’espace commercial et de loisirs sont situés au-dessus de la gare.
Un toit de bois de 310 mètres de long, abritant et surprenant jardin sur le toit, vous permet de lumière et de pluie pour l’irrigation naturelle.


Le toit en bois des cassettes triangulaires est courbé autour du bâtiment comme une coque de protection (figures 2 et 3). Le toit de la cassette est constitué de 1418 ailettes en bois lamellé collé, reliées par 564 joints en acier. La couverture transparente est composée de coussins en éthylène / tétrafluoroéthylène (ETFE). Le toit a une longueur de 310 m avec un pas remarquable de 30 m aux deux extrémités (figure 3). Le bois a été utilisé pour la construction de cassettes non seulement pour sa relation traditionnelle avec l’histoire des quais, mais aussi pour sa combinaison de résistance et d’utilisabilité. L’utilisation du bois aide à répondre à la demande du client pour un bâtiment durable à long terme. En particulier, le bois peut être usiné économiquement et efficacement pour maintenir une géométrie complexe de forme courbe.


La construction de Crossrail reste à l’heure et dans les limites du budget. Son programme de tunnels est terminé à plus de 80%. Lorsque Crossrail ouvrira ses portes en 2018, elle augmentera de 10% la capacité du réseau de transport ferroviaire londonien et réduira les temps de trajet à travers la ville, ce qui permettra d’accueillir 1,5 million de personnes supplémentaires dans les 45 minutes du centre de Londres.

La station de 256 m de long est entourée par l’eau du quai West India Quay, et se trouve directement en dessous de cinq niveaux de développement à usage mixte qui est maintenant ouvert au public.

Le hall de billetterie de la gare est accessible par huit escaliers mécaniques à grande hauteur depuis les entrées du niveau de la promenade à chaque extrémité du bâtiment. Au sommet de la station, un toit en lamellé-collé de 310 m de long, abritant un jardin surélevé, laisse entrer la lumière et la pluie pour une irrigation naturelle.

Les oreillers ETFE remplis d’air translucide permettent une vue directe à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du bâtiment et les poutres en bois d’origine durable fournissent un contrepoint naturel et chaleureux aux tours de verre et d’acier de Canary Wharf.








 

 



 







 






 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *