Enric Ruiz-Geli – Costa Brava, Barcelona, Spain

Share Button

Enric Ruiz-Geli

STGILAT Pasadena Art Pavillon


Cloud Pavilion 9


All components were prefabricated in the United States, shipped and installed on site in Begur, in Spain.


STGILAT Pavilion – Cloud9 & ACCD
The Cloud9 pavilion was a joint project of the Art Center College of Design and Cloud9 Architecture . He explored the application of pneumatic formwork and poured concrete. IT used nature as inspiration by focusing on the attributes of a pine cone. Machine histories provided support and produced all plywood components, polycarbonate and vacuum formed.


Enric Ruiz-Geli designs the Villa Stiguila Aiguablava in the Catalan region of Empordá, using the latest generation materials to create light and durable structures, transforming his particular vision of a Mediterranean area into a "case study". Born in the region, the architect uses his first-hand knowledge of Mediterranean culture to reinterpret the local traditional building system, the Catalan vault, using state-of-the-art technology to adapt to current standards of isolation and comfort.


 


Cloud Pavilion 9, is an award-winning company based in Barcelona and known for its dynamic and avant-garde architecture, joined forces with the Pasadena Art Center to design and manufacture a pavilion located on the Costa Brava. The shape was inspired by the local environment, which led to a natural geometric and parametric design. The concepts were developed and prototyped at the Hillside campus of Pasadena before being implemented on the construction site.
A giant igloo-shaped balloon supported a robust canvas formwork in reinforced fabric, filled with a new mixture of high strength concrete. The pavilion was featured on the fall cover page 2014 of the cover page of the Art Center.





The Art Pasadena Pavilion by Enric Ruiz-Geli


The Villa Stgilat is the new interpretation by Enric Ruiz-Geli


A Catalan cellar built overlooking the Costa Brava and a small, bright pavilion that will allow you to connect with nature and enjoy the fascinating views of the Costa Brava. Using the computing power and technological developments of the 21st century, he created. Parametric design blends well into the landscape. At the same time, he reduced the ecological footprint by placing the house on pillars, leaving the earth underneath intact. It combined the latest technological developments in materials, including specially designed soundproof tiles, to the traditional know-how of ceramic manufacturer Toni Cumella.


Enric Ruiz Geli has successfully used the heritage of Catalan architecture and developed it to a higher level.




 




 







Powered by Adobe Portfolio | Photos by Gegori Civera


A digital Mediterranean building. Intelligent , innovative and equipped with the most advanced technology integrated into nature : garden music whose melody changes when you approach or touch plants. The tradition of Mediterranean architecture , anchored in the landscape, curved and organic lines, with the materials of the earth, marks a leap into the new millennium with Enric Ruiz-Geli and the Pasadena Art Center (one of the best centers in the United States, whose director Zack Snyder or Apple store designers, BMW or Tesla are gone). The Stgilat village of Aiguablava brings a new modernity to the Costa Brava . And especially innovation !

 



“Barcelona to direct Mediterranean architecture”, says Ruiz-Geli.
"It all starts in the Mediterranean. And Barcelona must position itself on the geostrategic agenda and direct Mediterranean architecture ", says Ruiz-Geli, which cites the legacy of Coderch with Casa Ugalde or of Antoni Bonet with La Ricarda as bases of Mediterranean modernity. After having designed the avant-garde Villa Nurbs in Empuriabrava and finalized the el Bulli Foundation project, the architect has just built a sustainable villa in Aiguablava for a Swiss family, but to design the visitors pavilion, absolutely experimental, he joined the Art Center. from Pasadena. Under the name of "A Mediterranean case study", the architect and teachers and students of the center adopted the philosophy of the legendary team of designers Richard and Ray Eames, who in the years 60 and 70 built dozens of pilot homes in the Los Angeles area, with innovative aluminum structures. But the case of Aiguablava goes further. It’s not just architecture. It’s art and music. Because in the sound garden,the music broadcast varies depending on the user's approach or distance from the plants. "Design must be a sensory and bodily experience, at all levels. previously, the traditional designer took a pencil, made a sketch and had the solution. This is no longer valid, we have to rethink it from a global point of view “, says David Mocarski, director of the environmental design department of the Pasadena Art Center, who also gave a conference at the Institute of Architecture Avançada de Catalunya. (IAAC) to present the innovative case of Mediterranean studies.


If visionary architect Richard Buckminster Fuller invented in the years 50 the geodesic dome based on aluminum tubes and vinyl coating, Enric Ruiz-Geli and Mocarski propose an architectural textile system , a formwork structure into which intelligent concrete is injected. lightweight. It’s an organic structure inspired by trees, surrounding pines. It is a very ecological and light material, a chemical fiber, new generation explains the architect.


“We offer symbiotic relationships between technology and nature. We are studying how to use the computer and new materials to create a deeper connection with emotions. Technology is a new brush that can bring us closer to the landscape “, said Mocarski. YRuiz-Geli agrees that “materials come out of the landscape”. “Nature, this is the information, she has a PH, and if we install sensors, we can translate it”, add the architect, who draws inspiration from nature to develop a “holistic design”, global, with connections in all areas. Its maximum reference: Gaudí. "We must promote knowledge tourism. And Barcelona must be the flag of the Mediterranean ", Defends Ruiz-Geli in his study of the MediaTIC building, which he himself designed and which he has already exported the model to Moscow, in Taipei or Kuwait.


The approach of Enric Ruiz-Geli is to create new forms of spatiality from digital technologies. Advocate of ecological architecture, biotechnique et non standard, its Cloud Agency 9 makes information a real building material and each building is considered as a prototype managed by computer from the early design stage to final production. Using all the resources of computer-assisted calculation, the architect is trying to "get out the digital reality computers", to build a "natural landscape" and living by taking into account, in the same project development, other disciplines such as natural sciences such. The career of the agency is thus linked to experimentation. The merger between virtual and real (Aviary in Barcelona, 2001), osmosis between buildings and landscape (Villa Bio, 2003-05 ; Media-TIC, 2010), looking for technological and energy innovations (Villa Nurbs ; Pavillon SED, 2008) lead architect to develop receptive envelopes, performative he sees as a marriage of ecology and technology, drawing directly from nature's functioning.



Winner of numerous awards, Enric Ruiz-Geli (1968, Figueres) was formed E.T.S.A. Barcelona then abroad. Will follow a training designer.

Assistant Master of ephemeral architecture (Elisava you ETSAB), he collaborated with the agency Yago Conde, Jordi Henrich & Bee Goals (1991-1994) and attends Bob Wilson as scenographer.

It's in 1995 that he founded his own Cloud agency 9 in Barcelona and then begins to direct staging projects for artists, dont Philip Glass, Yoko Ono (1996) et Laurie Anderson (1997).

The versatile activity Ruiz-Geli also extends to the exhibition curator and co-director of architectural festivals, that of Barcelona in particular Metapolis.

As an architect, he notably built a birdhouse in Barcelona, Villa Organic Figueras, Villa Nurbs in Castello d'Empuries, Media-TIC in Barcelona, Habitat Hotel à l'Hospitalet de Llobregat, SED flag of thirst designed for the international exhibition on water and sustainable development in 2008 Zaragoza.



Enric Ruiz-Geli of Cloud au bureau 9 in Barcelona with a signed portrait of Buckminster Fuller in the background. The picture refers to the non-symmetrical voltage – structures integrity. Patent Office of the United States No. 3.866.366, filed 7 August 1973, serial number 386.302, granted 18 February 1975. Inventor: Buckminster Fuller.
Photo: Albert Bertran.

The Millennium Project Model



 



3eme Pavilion, Expo Zaragoza
Media-ICT building, CZFB, 22@, Barcelona



 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Architecte Enric Ruiz-Geli Le Pavillon Art Center Pasadena – Costa Brava, Barcelone, Espagne
Virginie Maneval

Share Button


Enric Ruiz-Geli



Pavillon Cloud 9

Pavillon STGILAT – Cloud9 & ACCD
Le pavillon Cloud9 était un projet conjoint du Art Center College of Design et de Cloud9 Architecture .
Il a exploré l’application du coffrage pneumatique et du béton coulé. Les TI ont utilisé la nature comme source d’inspiration en mettant l’accent sur les attributs d’une pomme de pin. Machinehistories a fourni un support et produit tous les
composants en contreplaqué, en polycarbonate et formés sous vide.
Tous les éléments ont été préfabriqués aux États-Unis, expédiés et installés sur place à Begur,
en Espagne.



Pavillon Cloud 9, est une entreprise primée basée à Barcelone et connue pour son architecture dynamique et avant-gardiste, s’est associée au Pasadena Art Center pour concevoir et fabriquer un pavillon situé sur la Costa Brava. La forme a été inspirée de l’environnement local, ce qui a conduit à une conception géométrique et paramétrique naturelle. Les concepts ont été développés et prototypés au campus Hillside de Pasadena avant d’être mis en œuvre sur le site de construction. Un ballon géant en forme d’igloo supportait un coffrage en toile robuste en tissu renforcé, rempli d’un nouveau mélange de béton à haute résistance. Le pavillon figurait sur la page de couverture de l’automne 2014 de la page de couverture du Art Centre.




Le Pavillon Art Pasadena par Enric Ruiz-Geli


La Villa Stgilat est la nouvelle interprétation par Enric Ruiz-Geli

D’un Caveau Catalan construit surplombant la Costa Brava et un petit pavillon lumineux qui vous permettra de vous connecter à la nature et de profiter des vues fascinantes de la Costa Brava.

En utilisant la puissance de calcul et les développements technologiques du 21ème siècle, il a créé.

La conception paramétrique se fond bien dans le paysage. Dans le même temps, il a réduit l’empreinte écologique en plaçant la maison sur des piliers, laissant la terre en dessous intacte.

Il a combiné les derniers développements technologiques en matériaux, y compris des tuiles insonorisées spécialement conçues, au savoir-faire traditionnel du fabricant de céramique Toni Cumella.

Enric Ruiz Geli a utilisé avec succès le patrimoine de l’architecture catalane et l’a développé à un niveau supérieur.





Powered by Adobe Portfolio | Photos by Gegori Civera


Un bâtiment méditerranéen en version numérique. Intelligente , innovante et dotée de la technologie la plus avancée intégrée à la nature : une musique de jardin dont la mélodie change lorsque vous approchez ou touchez des plantes. La tradition de l’architecture méditerranéenne , ancrée dans le paysage, les lignes courbes et organiques, avec les matériaux de la terre, marque un saut dans le nouveau millénaire avec Enric Ruiz-Geli et le Centre d’art de Pasadena (l’un des meilleurs centres des États-Unis, de qui le directeur Zack Snyder ou les concepteurs des magasins Apple, BMW ou Tesla sont partis). Le village Stgilat d’Aiguablava apporte une nouvelle modernité à la Costa Brava . Et surtout de l’innovation !



« Barcelone doit diriger l’architecture de la Méditerranée », affirme Ruiz-Geli.
«Tout commence en Méditerranée. Et Barcelone doit se positionner dans l’agenda géostratégique et diriger l’architecture méditerranéenne », affirme Ruiz-Geli, qui cite l’héritage de Coderch avec Casa Ugalde ou d’Antoni Bonet avec La Ricarda comme bases de la modernité méditerranéenne. Après avoir conçu la Villa Nurbs d’avant-garde à Empuriabrava et finalisé le projet el Bulli Foundation, l’architecte vient de construire une villa durable à Aiguablava pour une famille suisse, mais pour concevoir le pavillon des visiteurs, absolument expérimental, il s’est associé au Art Center. de Pasadena. Sous le nom de « Un cas d’étude méditerranéen», l’architecte et les enseignants et étudiants du centre ont repris la philosophie de l’équipe légendaire de designers Richard et Ray Eames, qui dans les années 60 et 70 a construit des dizaines de maisons pilotes dans la région de Los Angeles, avec des structures en aluminium innovantes. Mais le cas d’Aiguablava va plus loin. Ce n’est pas seulement l’architecture. C’est de l’art et de la musique. Parce que dans le jardin sonore,la musique diffusée varie en fonction de l’approche de l’utilisateur ou de son éloignement des plantes. «Le design doit être une expérience sensorielle et corporelle, à tous les niveaux. Auparavant, le designer traditionnel prenait un crayon, faisait un croquis et avait la solution. Cela n’est plus valable, nous devons le repenser d’un point de vue global « , déclare David Mocarski, directeur du département de conception environnementale du Art Center de Pasadena, qui a également donné une conférence à l’Institut d’Arquitectura Avançada de Catalunya. (IAAC) pour présenter le cas novateur d’études méditerranéennes.


Si l’architecte visionnaire Richard Buckminster Fuller a inventé dans les années 50 le dôme géodésique à base de tubes en aluminium et de revêtement en vinyle, Enric Ruiz-Geli et Mocarski proposent un système architectural en textile , une structure de coffrage dans laquelle un béton intelligent est injecté. léger. C’est une structure organique inspirée des arbres, des pins environnants. C’est un matériau très écologique et léger, une fibre chimique, nouvelle génération explique l’architecte.


« Nous proposons des relations symbiotiques entre technologie et nature. Nous étudions comment utiliser l’ordinateur et les nouveaux matériaux pour créer un lien plus profond avec les émotions. La technologie est un nouveau pinceau qui peut nous rapprocher du paysage « , a déclaré Mocarski. YRuiz-Geli convient que « les matériaux sortent du paysage ». « La nature, c’est l’information, elle a un PH, et si nous installons des capteurs, nous pouvons la traduire », ajoute l’architecte, qui s’inspire de la nature pour développer un « design holistique », global, avec des connexions dans tous les domaines. Sa référence maximale: Gaudí. «Nous devons promouvoir un tourisme de connaissance. Et Barcelone doit être le drapeau de la Méditerranée», Défend Ruiz-Geli dans son étude du bâtiment MediaTIC, qu’il a lui-même conçu et dont il a déjà exporté le modèle à Moscou, à Taipei ou au Koweït.


La démarche d’Enric Ruiz-Geli vise à créer de nouvelles formes de spatialité à partir des technologies numériques. Partisan d’une architecture écologique, biotechnique et non standard, son agence Cloud 9 fait de l’information un véritable matériau de construction et chaque bâtiment s’envisage comme un prototype géré informatiquement dès les premières phases d’étude jusqu’à sa fabrication finale. Usant de toutes les ressources du calcul assisté par ordinateur, l’architecte tente de « faire sortir la réalité digitale des ordinateurs », de construire un « paysage naturel » et vivant par la prise en compte, dans l’élaboration même du projet, d’autres champs disciplinaires tels que les sciences de la nature par exemple. Le parcours professionnel de l’agence est ainsi lié à l‘expérimentation. La fusion entre virtuel et réel (Volière à Barcelone, 2001), l’osmose entre bâti et paysage (Villa Bio, 2003-05 ; Media-TIC, 2010), la recherche d’innovations technologiques et énergétiques (Villa Nurbs ; Pavillon SED, 2008) conduisent l’architecte à élaborer des enveloppes réceptives, performatives qu’il conçoit comme un mariage d’écologie et de technologie en s’inspirant directement du fonctionnement de la nature.



Lauréat de nombreux prix, Enric Ruiz-Geli (1968, Figueres) s’est formé à l’E.T.S.A. de Barcelone puis à l’étranger. S’ensuivra une formation de scénographe.

Assistant au Master d’architecture éphémère (Escola Elisava et ETSAB), il collabore avec l’agence de Yago Conde, Jordi Henrich & Bea Goller (1991-1994) et assiste Bob Wilson en tant que scénographe.

C’est en 1995 qu’il fonde sa propre agence Cloud 9 à Barcelone et commence alors à diriger des projets de mise en scène pour des artistes, dont Philip Glass, Yoko Ono (1996) et Laurie Anderson (1997).

L’activité polyvalente de Ruiz-Geli s’étend également au commissariat d’expositions et à la co-direction de festivals d’architecture, celui de Metapolis à Barcelone notamment.

En qualité d’architecte, il a notamment construit une Volière à Barcelone, la Villa Bio à Figueras, la Villa Nurbs à Castello d’Empuries, le Media-TIC à Barcelone, l’Hotel Habitat à l’Hospitalet de Llobregat, le pavillon SED de la soif conçu pour l’exposition internationale consacrée à l’eau et au développement durable en 2008 à Saragosse.



Enric Ruiz-Geli au bureau de Cloud 9 à Barcelone avec un portrait signé de Buckminster Fuller en arrière-plan. Le portrait se réfère à la tension non symétrique – structures d’intégrité. Bureau des brevets des États-Unis n ° 3.866.366, déposé le 7 août 1973, numéro de série 386.302, accordé le 18 février 1975. Inventeur: Buckminster Fuller.
Photo: Albert Bertran.

The Millennium Project Model



 



 3eme Pavilion, Expo Zaragoza
Media-ICT building, CZFB, 22@, Barcelona



 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *