Bubble – International airport – The Angels (LAX)

Share Button


INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT – LAX Los Angeles



Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) is the primary airport serving international cargo Southern California – 16e world's largest economy. LAX ranks 14th in the world and fifth in the US in tonnage handled airfreight. In 2012, LAX handled over 1,96 million tons of goods worth nearly 87 billion $.



Flights as it was in years 60.



This is the construction of the strange Theme Building
at Los Angeles Airport in 1961.


 

 


The Theme Building is located at 209 World Way, to the Angels, in California.


Its characteristic shape, reminiscent of a flying saucer on the ground, in fact the symbol of the international airport of Los Angeles. Its construction was completed in August 1961, for an amount of 2,2 millions of dollars. It is designed by architects Paul R. Williams, Pereira & Luckman, et Robert Herrick Carter, in the Jet Age terminal development project of LAX, which amounts to about him 50 millions of dollars. With its parabolic arches 40 meters high, its futuristic style reflects the era of space exploration that opens at the time the United States and relates to the Jet Age architectural movement in vogue in Southern California. Its primary function is to serve as a viewing platform, offering a panoramic 360 ° view on the airport. It should be noted however that the structure is fixed, it is not rotatable. But the Theme Building also hosts since January 1997 a restaurant, l’Encounter, and a bar, Genesis, designed by the company Walt Disney Imagineering. It is surrounded by lush gardens and courtyard, commemorating the opening of the terminal and paying tribute to the first employee of the airport 1928, un certain Henry Bakes.







https://youtu.be/LVr6EbZt6zY?list=RDLVr6EbZt6zY



The international airport of LAX Los Angeles Terminal 2



Paul R. Williams was one of the most famous 20th-century African-American architects. At the beginning of his career, Williams designed primarily houses, but in the years 1950 and 1960, he designed some of the most distinctive public buildings in Los Angeles. The most famous building is probably the Williams theme building at Los Angeles International Airport, who conceived with William Pereira.



Los Angeles International Airport, 1964 © Garry Winogrand


Julius Shulman is an American photographer born in 1936 who for years photographed the houses and buildings created..









RESTAURANT ENCOUNTER & BAR LAX – LOS ANGELES AIRPORT

The distinctive white building resembles a flying saucer that landed on all fours. It was designed by a team of architects and engineers led by William Pereira and Charles Luckman, which also included Paul Williams and Welton Becket. The initial design of the building was created by James Langenheim, Pereira & Luckman.


The Theme Building is a monument of iconic structure at Los Angeles International Airport within the Westchester neighborhood of the city of Los Angeles. It opened in 1961, and is an example of modern design school influenced Mid-Century known “Googie” or “Populuxe.”

The appearance of the building as a single homogeneous structure is an illusion cleverly constructed. Building two crossed arches consist actually four feet of reinforced concrete which extend approximately 15 feet above the ground, and a hollow, steel mesh covered with stucco constituting other lower arches and whole upper arches. To avoid changing the appearance of the structure with a clear strengthening, the theme of the building was equipped with a tuned mass damper to counter the earthquake movements.

This has got to be the Encounter Restaurant, poster 1997 Disney Imagineering remodeling.

Lava Lamps original designs of Disney,change of light sweet ceiling plan, Atomic rock chairs !

original color drawings..

Eddie Sotto Disney Imagineering drawing the red piece in Encounter

The original design of the airport created by Pereira & Luckman in 1959 had all the terminal buildings and parking structures connected to a huge glass dome, which serve as a hub for road traffic. The plan was eventually scaled down considerably, and the terminals were built elsewhere on the property. The thematic building was then built to mark the space provided for the domed structure, as a reminder of the original plan. Firstly, the restaurant on top turned slowly, giving visitors a culinary experience 360 degrees. However, it is now stationary.

The Los Angeles City Council designated the historic-cultural monument building (no. 570) in 1993. A 4 M $ renovation, with retro-futuristic interior lighting and electrical designed by Walt Disney Imagineering, was completed before the restaurant opened there in meeting 1997 . visitors are able to take an elevator up to the observation level "Theme Building”, located on the roof of the restaurant meeting. It has a view to 360 degrees on arriving and departing planes. After the attacks of 11 September, the level of compliance was closed for security reasons. Following a restoration of the building completed in 2010 at 12,3 millions $, re-open compliance level to the public on weekends from July 10. Furthermore, the 9 September 2003, a permanent memorial honoring those who perished in the attacks of 11 September was opened on the basis of the theme building.

The Encounter Restaurant closed for business on 31 December 2013, without future plans to reopen. previously, the restaurant was closed in March 2007 for repairs after a piece of stucco skin on the upper half ton crushed on the restaurant roof arches and reopened 12 November, 2007. Delaware North Companies Travel Hospitality Services operated restaurant. He was in the airport pre-security area.

United States, California, The Angels, LAX, Los Angeles International Airport, old airport control tower, Now a bar, dusk

BONUS

1. Los Angeles International Airport

2. Dubai International Airport

3. Los Angeles International Airport

4. London Heathrow Airport

5. Zürich Airport

6. Amsterdam Airport Schiphol

7. Franz Josef Strauss Airport Munich

8. Frankfurt-on-Main

9. London Heathrow Airport

10. Dubai International Airport

Astonishing images of planes taking off and landing
Airportraits : discover the impressive photos of Mike Kelley.
It took two years of work to Mike Kelley to stage these planes taking off and landing in the world's largest airports.

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Bulle – Aéroport International – Los Angeles (LAX)
Virginie Maneval

Share Button


AÉROPORT  INTERNATIONAL – LAX  Los Angeles


Aéroport international de Los Angeles (LAX) est le principal aéroport de fret international desservant Californie du Sud – 16e plus grande économie du monde. LAX rangs de 14e dans le monde et cinquième aux États-Unis dans le tonnage du fret aérien traitées. En 2012, LAX a traité plus de 1,96 millions de tonnes de marchandises d’une valeur de près de 87 milliards $.

 

 Les vols comme c’était dans les années 60.

 

IL s’agit de la construction de l’étrange Thème Building à l’aéroport de Los Angeles en 1961.

 

 


Le Theme Building se situe au 209 World Way, à Los Angeles, en Californie.

Sa forme caractéristique, rappelant celle d’une soucoupe volante au sol, en fait le symbole même de l’aéroport international de Los Angeles. Sa construction s’achève en août 1961, pour un montant de 2,2 millions de dollars. Il est conçu par les architectes Paul R. Williams, Pereira & Luckman, et Robert Herrick Carter, dans le cadre du projet d’aménagement du terminal Jet Age du LAX, qui se chiffre quant à lui à 50 millions de dollars. Avec ses arches paraboliques de 40 mètres de haut, son style futuriste reflète l’ère de la conquête spatiale qui s’ouvre à l’époque aux États-Unis et le rattache au mouvement architectural Jet Age alors en vogue dans le sud de la Californie. Sa fonction première est de servir de plateforme d’observation, offrant un point de vue panoramique à 360° sur l’aéroport. Il est à noter cependant que la structure est fixe, elle n’est pas rotative. Mais le Theme Building accueille également depuis janvier 1997 un restaurant, l’Encounter, et un bar, le Genesis, conçus par la société Walt Disney Imagineering. Il est environné de jardins luxuriants et d’une cour, commémorant l’ouverture du terminal et rendant hommage au premier employé de l’aéroport en 1928, un certain Henry Bakes.


L’aéroport international de LAX Los Angeles Terminal 2

Paul R. Williams était l’un des plus connus du 20e architectes afro-américaine siècle. Au début de sa carrière, Williams conçu principalement des maisons, mais dans les années 1950 et 1960, il a conçu certains des édifices publics les plus distinctifs de Los Angeles. Le bâtiment le plus connu de Williams est probablement le bâtiment de thème à l’aéroport international de Los Angeles, qui a conçu avec William Pereira.


Los Angeles International Airport, 1964 © Garry Winogrand


Julius Shulman est un photographe américain né en 1936 qui pendant des années photographia les maisons et bâtiments créés..

RESTAURANT ENCOUNTER & BAR LAX – AÉROPORT DE LOS ANGELES

Le bâtiment blanc distinctif ressemble à une soucoupe volante qui a atterri sur ses quatre pattes. Il a été conçu par une équipe d’architectes et d’ingénieurs dirigés par William Pereira et Charles Luckman, qui comprenait aussi Paul Williams et Welton Becket. La conception initiale du bâtiment a été créé par James Langenheim, de Pereira & Luckman.


Le bâtiment thématique est une structure de monument emblématique à l’aéroport international de Los Angeles dans le quartier de Westchester de la ville de Los Angeles. Il a ouvert en 1961, et il est un exemple de la moderne école de design influencé Mid-Century connu sous le nom « Googie » ou « Populuxe. »

L’apparence du bâtiment comme une structure unique homogène est une illusion savamment construit. deux arcs croisés du bâtiment se composent en fait de quatre pieds en béton armé qui se prolongent à environ 15 pieds au-dessus du sol, et un creux, treillis en acier recouvert de stuc constituant les autres arcs inférieurs et des arcs supérieurs entiers. Pour éviter de changer l’apparence de la structure avec un renforcement manifeste, le thème du bâtiment a été équipée d’un amortisseur de masse accordé pour contrer les mouvements de tremblement de terre.

Cela a obtenu d’être le Encounter Restaurant, poster 1997 Disney Imagineering remodelage.

Lava Lamps des conceptions originales de Disney,changement de lumière plan de plafond doux, chaises Atomic rock !

Dessins  couleurs originaux..

Eddie Sotto de Disney Imagineering dessin la pièce rouge à Encounter

La conception originale de l’aéroport créé par Pereira & Luckman en 1959 avait tous les bâtiments du terminal et des structures de stationnement reliées à un immense dôme de verre, qui servira de plaque tournante pour la circulation routière. Le plan a finalement été revue à la baisse considérablement, et les bornes ont été construites ailleurs sur la propriété. Le bâtiment thématique a ensuite été construit pour marquer l’endroit prévu pour la structure en forme de dôme, comme un rappel du plan original. Dans un premier temps, le restaurant sur le dessus tourné lentement, donnant aux visiteurs une expérience culinaire à 360 degrés. Cependant, il est maintenant stationnaire.

Le conseil municipal de Los Angeles a désigné le bâtiment monument historique-culturel (no. 570) en 1993. A 4 M $ rénovation, avec éclairage intérieur et électrique rétro-futuriste conçu par Walt Disney Imagineering, a été achevée avant la rencontre restaurant il a ouvert en 1997 . les visiteurs sont en mesure de prendre un ascenseur jusqu’à l’observation du niveau de la «Thème du bâtiment », situé sur le toit de la rencontre de restaurant. Il a une vue à 360 degrés sur les plans arrivée et au départ. Après les attentats du 11 Septembre, le niveau d’observation a été fermé pour des raisons de sécurité. Suite à une restauration de l’édifice achevé en 2010 à 12,3 millions $, le niveau d’observation ré-ouvert au public le week-end à partir Juillet 10. De plus, le 9 Septembre 2003, un mémorial permanent rendant hommage à ceux qui ont péri dans les attentats du 11 Septembre a été ouverte sur la base de l’édifice thématique.

The Encounter Restaurant fermé pour les affaires le 31 Décembre 2013, sans plans futurs pour rouvrir. Auparavant, le restaurant a été fermé en Mars 2007 pour des réparations après un morceau de la peau en stuc sur les arcades supérieure demi-tonne écrasé sur le toit du restaurant et rouvert le 12 Novembre, 2007. Delaware North Companies Voyage Hospitality Services exploités au restaurant. Il était dans une zone pré-sécurité de l’aéroport.

États-Unis, Californie, Los Angeles, LAX, Aéroport international de Los Angeles, ancienne tour de contrôle de l’aéroport, maintenant un bar, crépuscule

BONUS

1. Aéroport international de Los Angeles

2. Aéroport international de Dubaï

3. Aéroport international de Los Angeles

4. Aéroport de Londres Heathrow

5. Aéroport international de Zurich

6. Aéroport d’Amsterdam-Schiphol

7. Aéroport Franz Josef Strauss de Munich

8. Aéroport de Francfort-sur-le-Main

9. Aéroport de Londres Heathrow

10. Aéroport international de Dubaï

Des images incroyables d’avions au décollage et à l’atterrissage
Airportraits : découvrez les photos impressionnantes de Mike Kelley.
Il a fallu deux ans de travail à Mike Kelley pour mettre en scène ces avions qui décollent et atterrissent dans les plus grands aéroports du monde.

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *