Bulle SiloStay Motel Studios F3Design (2014) Christchurch N.Z

Share Button



Industry (Steve Taylor (Photography) New Zealand, Christchurch




NEW ZEALAND, Christchurch
Address : Christchurch Akaroa Rd, Little River 7591, New Zealand
Phone : +64 3-325 1977





From 159 $ for a night d & rsquo; warm winter for two !!



F3 Design




The New Zealand studio F3 Design
had the & rsquo; idea of ​​reusing industrial structures that were used to store food for farm animals.



Silo Stay is a family business: Stuart Wright Stow-imagined the concept and hired his son and daughter, Pippin and Ella F3 Design , for the & rsquo; run.

The initial plan consists of eight single units (each with a kitchen and a lounge on the ground floor and a queen-size bed upstairs), a family suite and accommodation for the director (composed of two silos connected by a closed passage). Contrary to previous reports, designers do not recycle disused silos but owners tailored to their specifications units. L & rsquo; hotel also has a good share of & rsquo; eco-fasteners: Each unit will be cooled by natural ventilation through the door and the latch of the roof and heated by a pellet boiler fed by gravity. The top has a glass cover to give guests a glimpse of the night sky from the bed.





Traditionally, grain silos are in the country filled with fodder, in
toures d & rsquo; a number of & rsquo; farm animals.. However, le ‘Silo Stay’ based in Little River, in Banks Peninsula, goes against current. In that case, exclusive grain silos are used as individual units motel as part of & rsquo; d & rsquo a complex, innovative accommodation, ecological and affordable.

Silo Stay Little River eight individual units each accommodating two people, accessible family unit and a management unit that will be built to complement this exciting project. Visionary and founder of the project, Stuart Wright-Stow and his design team, F3 Design, are passionate about environmental sustainability and have designed a d & rsquo unit; energy which houses a pellet boiler gravity fed to heat the complex. This is in its own custom-designed silo with glass panels so you can see the & rsquo; energy during production.

Each unit of two-stage measurement 8,7 meters high. The top has a glass cover for a glimpse of the night sky while relaxing in bed. At & rsquo; floor houses a queen bed and bathroom while downstairs has a kitchen and living room.

Silo Stay Little River is an exciting project that paves the way for d & rsquo; other projects. The vision and the & rsquo; ingenuity of this design are its versatility d & rsquo; use in areas that are not necessarily complex d & rsquo; accommodation. These individual units or the larger family complex can be used in a myriad of situations and locations. for example, these units can easily become offices in town, batches for isolated shelters, home and office situations, places d & rsquo; accommodation, centers & rsquo; information, d & rsquo facilities; accommodation for conference centers or other equipment. the commercial and domestic sectors.

In addition to the & rsquo; layout and configuration of the housing of grain, F3 Design and Stuart have developed designs for complex downtown offices. O & rsquo; there is a vision for the silo units, F3 Design work with the client to create an exciting result to meet the needs of each.






 

A group of abandoned grain silos near Christchurch in New Zealand is converted into a motel rooms.








A wood pellet boiler to the & rsquo; & rsquo inside; a separate silo will heat all the rooms.







 




















+ small BONTheS !



L & rsquo; architect and designer Christoph Kaiser and Shauna Thibault converted a grain silo 366 square feet in their first home, which led them to reduce and simplify their urban lifestyle in Phoenix.




WEATHERWICK



Designer britannique Thomas Heatherwick

He attributes his artistic training with the & rsquo; help get its current practice, adding that the curricula in schools d & rsquo; architecture.
In the years 1980, When & rsquo; it was design student, it seemed "so abstract of & rsquo; daily experience of people". Artist, Architect, the sensitivity of Heatherwick is a welcome addition to contemporary architectural discourse.


The Silo Cape-Town Hôtel

Silo Square, V & A Waterfront – Cape Town 8801 South Africa


L & rsquo; s extraordinary Zeitz Museum & rsquo; contemporary African art (MOCAA) in Cape, in South Africa, opened its doors to the public. The museum is set to become the largest in the world …


Walter Gropius, Le Corbusier and Charles Sheeler defended grain silos, with their geometrical purity, as majestic incarnations of modernity, Heatherwick remodeled but it also. than just a splendid specimen of the type. Multiple layers of paint were removed, revealing the continuous surfaces silos – surprisingly, constructed in one pour – which greatly amplifies their monumentality. Heatherwick, whose center d & rsquo; s learning & rsquo; Nanyang Technological University in Singapore, demonstrates understanding of & rsquo; phenomenological lure of rich surfaces, varied and textured, then polished and sealed silos and silos steep concrete and coarse. To report the programmatic transformation of the structure (and more & rsquo; d & rsquo a museum art, it contains a boutique hotel), he designed the windows in the shape of & rsquo; beautifully detailed pillows. The structural glazing changes color faceted with reflected light for the Zeitz a beacon for kilometers.

L & rsquo; s exterior & rsquo; proved easy compared to structural and programmatic puzzles interiors, that were critical to the continued success of the museum. Heatherwick and Coetzee explained that simply d & rsquo; entice visitors to enter the Zeitz is a major challenge, because it n & rsquo; is virtually no museum culture in South Africa: people migrate to the waterfront redeveloped to shop and take the ferry to Robben.
Heatherwick has amplified its celebration of & rsquo; history of the building. The home d & rsquo; narrow, vertical entry draws your eye upward, you discover, recessed ceiling above you, original metal ducts which, opened by hand, dump stored grains directly into large open containers parked on trestles .
On entering the lobby, you will discover a vaulted atrium, before, below and above you, dug d & rsquo; shadows and dripping sun. Recalling the draft of the Mikveh Israel Synagogue Louis Kahn, much smaller, this public atrium is as touching as Frank Gehry Guggenheim Bilbao, a wonderful space, both dynamic and containing, sensually textured and seriously monumental.
Maintaining the rigid geometry of the existing building might too static design, Heatherwick swept a grain of corn to use as reference for the shape of the vacuum of & rsquo; headset, which is set in the paired cylinders of the building. The contrast between the irregular curves of biomorphic vacuo and the geometric regularity of concrete silos creates an extremely dynamic composition.

L & rsquo; s performance of this atrium & rsquo; that was more complex. When the silos were built in & rsquo; origin, the simple fact of their combination has created the lateral stability of the building. How to carve an atrium and multi-span multistory from & rsquo; such a structure? Working with engineers & rsquo; Arup and local partner companies, architects Van der Merwe Miszewski, Rick Brown and Associates & rsquo; Parker-Jacobs Heatherwick team designed what is essentially a new building to support the original structure. The "sleeves" reinforced concrete 9¾ inches & rsquo; thickness were cast in & rsquo; within each cylinder 18 feet in diameter. Ensuite, a surveyor mapped hundreds of coordinates from corn kernels scans on silos, for entrepreneurs to determine where to drill two layers of concrete sandwich.

This design produces possibilities of construction details that significantly improve the emotional quality of the building. The sandblasted and velvety surfaces of the new structure emphasizes the quality of burnished concrete historical.


A hotel in the & rsquo; inside the renovated grain silo Thomas Heatherwick to open in Cape Town !

How to turn forty and two vertical concrete tubes in a place of discovery of contemporary culture ?

L & rsquo; s goal was to reinvent the & rsquo; historical grain silo V & A Waterfront au Cap, as that & rsquo; cultural institution nonprofit housing the largest collection & rsquo; d & rsquo contemporary art Africa and its diaspora.

Our first thoughts fought with extraordinary physical facts of the building. It n & rsquo; there is no wide open space in densely filled tubes and n & rsquo; is not possible to make the & rsquo; experience of these volumes of & rsquo; interior. Instead of & rsquo; eliminate evidence of & rsquo; industrial heritage building, we wanted to find a way to celebrate. We can either fight a concrete tubes building, or enjoy its tubes.






Inside, geometric panels frame incredible views of Table Mountain, City Bowl et Table Bay Harbor.



 

 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Bulle SiloStay Motel Studios F3Design (2014) Christchurch N.Z
Virginie Maneval

Share Button



Industry (Steve Taylor (Photography) New Zealand, Christchurch




NEW ZEALAND, Christchurch
Adresse : Christchurch Akaroa Rd, Little River 7591, Nouvelle-Zélande
Téléphone : +64 3-325 1977





À partir de 159 $ pour une nuit d’hiver chaud pour deux !!



 F3 Design 




Le studio néo-zélandais F3 Design
a eu l’idée de réutiliser les structures industrielles qui servaient à stocker les aliments pour animaux de ferme.



Silo Stay est une entreprise familiale: Stuart Wright-Stow a imaginé le concept et embauché son fils et sa fille, Pippin et Ella de F3 Design , pour l’exécuter.

Le plan initial se compose de huit unités simples (chacune avec une cuisine et un salon au rez-de-chaussée et un lit queen-size en haut), une suite familiale et un logement pour le directeur (composé de deux silos reliés par un couloir fermé). Contrairement aux rapports précédents, les concepteurs ne recyclent pas les silos désaffectés mais plutôt des unités propriétaires adaptées à leurs spécifications. L’hôtel a également une bonne part d’éco-fixations: Chaque unité sera refroidie par ventilation naturelle à travers les portes et le loquet du toit et chauffée par une chaudière à granulés de bois alimentée par gravité. Le sommet a un couvercle vitré pour donner aux clients un aperçu du ciel nocturne du lit.





Traditionnellement, les silos à grains se trouvent dans le pays rempli de fourrage, en
tourés d’un certain nombre d’animaux de la ferme.. Cependant, le ‘Silo Stay’ basé à Little River, dans la péninsule de Banks, va à contre-courant. Dans ce cas, les silos à grains exclusifs sont utilisés comme unités individuelles de motel dans le cadre d’un complexe d’hébergement novateur, écologique et abordable.

Silo Stay Little River compte huit unités individuelles pouvant accueillir chacune deux personnes, une unité familiale accessible et une unité de gestion qui sera érigée pour compléter ce projet passionnant. Visionnaire et fondateur de ce projet, Stuart Wright-Stow et son équipe de conception, F3 Design, sont passionnés par la durabilité environnementale et ont donc conçu une unité d’énergie qui abrite une chaudière à granulés alimentée par gravité pour chauffer le complexe. Cela se trouve dans son propre silo conçu sur mesure avec des panneaux vitrés afin que vous puissiez voir l’énergie en cours de fabrication.

Chaque unité de deux étages mesure 8,7 mètres de haut. Le sommet a un couvercle vitré permettant un aperçu du ciel nocturne tout en se relaxant au lit. A l’étage abrite un lit queen et salle de bains tandis que en bas a une cuisine et un salon.

Silo Stay Little River est un projet passionnant qui ouvre la voie à d’autres projets. La vision et l’ingéniosité de cette conception sont sa polyvalence d’utilisation dans des zones qui ne sont pas nécessairement des complexes d’hébergement. Ces unités individuelles ou le complexe familial plus vaste peuvent être utilisés dans une myriade de situations et d’emplacements. Par exemple, ces unités peuvent facilement devenir des bureaux en ville, des lots pour des refuges isolés, des situations de maison et de bureau, des lieux d’hébergement, des centres d’information, des installations d’hébergement pour les centres de conférence ou tout autre équipement. les secteurs commercial et domestique.

En plus de l’aménagement et de la configuration du logement des silos à grains, F3 Design et Stuart ont développé des dessins pour les complexes de bureaux du centre-ville. S’il y a une vision pour les unités de silo, F3 Design travaillera avec le client pour créer un résultat excitant pour répondre aux besoins de chacun.






 

Un groupe de silos à grains désaffectés près de Christchurch en Nouvelle-Zélande est aménagé en chambres de motel.








Une chaudière à granulés de bois à l’intérieur d’un silo séparé chauffera toutes les pièces.







 




















+ petit BONUS !



L’architecte et une styliste Christoph Kaiser et Shauna Thibault ont converti un silo à grains de 366 pieds carrés dans leur première maison, ce qui les a amenés à réduire et à simplifier leur style de vie urbain à Phoenix.




WEATHERWICK



Designer britannique Thomas Heatherwick

Il attribue sa formation artistique avec l’aider à obtenir sa pratique actuelle, ajoutant que les curricula dans les écoles d’architecture.
Dans les années 1980, lorsqu’il était étudiant en design, il semblait «si abstrait de l’expérience quotidienne des gens». Artiste, Architecte, la sensibilité de Heatherwick est un ajout bienvenu au discours architectural contemporain.


The Silo Cape-Town Hôtel

 Silo Square, V & A Waterfront – Cape Town 8801 Afrique du Sud


L’extraordinaire Musée Zeitz de l’art contemporain africain (MOCAA) au Cap, en Afrique du Sud, a ouvert ses portes au public. Le musée est en passe de devenir le plus important du monde …


Walter Gropius, Le Corbusier et Charles Sheeler défendaient les silos à grains, avec leur pureté géométrique, comme des incarnations majestueuses de la modernité, mais Heatherwick remodela celle-ci en plus. que juste un splendide exemplaire du type. De multiples couches de peinture ont été enlevées, révélant les surfaces continues des silos – étonnamment, construites en une seule coulée – ce qui amplifie considérablement leur monumentalité. Heatherwick, dont le centre d’apprentissage à l’Université technologique de Nanyang à Singapour, démontre sa compréhension de l’attrait phénoménologique de surfaces riches, variées et texturées, puis a poli et scellé les silos et les silos des bétons escarpés et grossiers. Pour signaler la transformation programmatique de la structure (en plus d’un musée d’art, il contient un hôtel de charme), il a conçu des fenêtres en forme d’oreillers magnifiquement détaillées. Le vitrage structurel à facettes change de couleur avec la lumière réfléchie pour faire du Zeitz un phare à des kilomètres.

L’extérieur s’est avéré simple comparé aux énigmes structurelles et programmatiques des intérieurs, qui étaient critiques au succès soutenu du musée. Heatherwick et Coetzee expliquent que le simple fait d’inciter les visiteurs à entrer dans le Zeitz est un défi majeur, car il n’existe pratiquement aucune culture muséale en Afrique du Sud: les gens migrent vers le front de mer réaménagé pour faire leurs courses et prendre le ferry pour Robben.
Heatherwick a amplifié sa célébration de l’histoire du bâtiment. Le foyer d’entrée étroit et vertical attire votre regard vers le haut, où vous découvrez, encastrés dans le plafond au-dessus de vous, les goulottes métalliques originales qui, ouvertes à la main, déversent les grains stockés directement dans de grands conteneurs ouverts garés sur des tréteaux .
En pénétrant dans le hall, vous découvrirez un atrium voûté, avant, au-dessous et au-dessus de vous, creusé d’ombres et ruisselant de soleil. Rappelant le projet de la synagogue Mikveh Israel de Louis Kahn, bien plus petit, cet atrium public est aussi touchant que Guggenheim Bilbao de Frank Gehry, un espace merveilleux, à la fois dynamique et contenant, sensuellement texturé et gravement monumental.
Le maintien de la géométrie rigide du bâtiment existant risquait une conception trop statique, Heatherwick balayé un grain de maïs à utiliser comme référence pour la forme du vide de l’oreillette, qui est gravé dans les cylindres groupés du bâtiment. Le contraste entre les courbes biomorphiques irrégulières du vide et la régularité géométrique des silos en béton crée une composition extrêmement dynamique.

L’exécution de cet atrium s’est révélée plus que complexe. Lorsque les silos ont été construits à l’origine, le simple fait de leur regroupement a créé la stabilité latérale du bâtiment. Comment sculpter un atrium à plusieurs travées et à plusieurs étages à partir d’une telle structure? Travaillant avec des ingénieurs d’Arup et des entreprises partenaires locales, les architectes Van der Merwe Miszewski, Rick Brown Associates et l’équipe de Jacobs Parker-Heatherwick ont ​​conçu ce qui est essentiellement un nouveau bâtiment pour soutenir la structure originale. Des «manchons» en béton armé de 9¾ pouces d’épaisseur ont été coulés à l’intérieur de chaque cylindre de 18 pieds de diamètre. Ensuite, un arpenteur-géomètre a cartographié des centaines de coordonnées à partir des balayages de grains de maïs sur les silos, permettant aux entrepreneurs de déterminer où creuser les deux couches de béton en sandwich.

Cette conception a produit des possibilités de détails de construction qui améliorent considérablement la qualité émotionnelle du bâtiment. Les surfaces sablées et veloutées de la nouvelle structure soulignent la qualité de béton historique bruni.


Un Hôtel à l’intérieur du silo à grains rénové de Thomas Heatherwick pour ouvrir à Cape Town !

Comment transformer quarante-deux tubes de béton verticaux en un lieu de découverte de la culture contemporaine ?

L’objectif était de réinventer l’historique silo à grains du V & A Waterfront au Cap, en tant qu’institution culturelle à but non lucratif abritant la plus importante collection d’art contemporain d’Afrique et de sa diaspora.

Nos premières pensées ont lutté avec les faits physiques extraordinaires du bâtiment. Il n’y a pas de grand espace ouvert dans les tubes densément remplis et il n’est pas possible de faire l’expérience de ces volumes de l’intérieur. Plutôt que d’éliminer les preuves de l’héritage industriel du bâtiment, nous voulions trouver un moyen de le célébrer. Nous pourrions soit combattre un bâtiment en tubes de béton, soit profiter de ses tubes.






À l’intérieur, les panneaux géométriques encadrent des vues incroyables de Table Mountain, City Bowl et Table Bay Harbor.



 

 

Share Button
 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *