Cricket Shelter Prototype of a modular farm for edible insects Terreform One (2016) – Brooklyn Navy Yard, New York

Share Button



A Prototype of a Modular Farm for Edible Insects.



Insects are an essential component of our ecosystem and their natural evolution is a fascinating source of material inspiration, as we have seen this week in the work of Marlene huissoud, but also potentially a solution to our global food crisis.

The cricket refuge is a new project in Brooklyn, in New York State, whose entire facade is devoted to the breeding of crickets for human consumption as part of the resolution of the growing problem of food distribution in the world.

Conceived by Terreform ONE with Mitchell Joachim as principal for Investigaor,

Cricket Shelter Is a dual-use shelter and a modular insect farm enclosed in a single structure. According to its designers, it is destined for the looming food crisis, where people will need to access good sources of alternative protein, because cattle rearing is not possible at our current rate of consumption and resource extraction.

UN mandates protein from insects essential to solving global food distribution problems. It has an impact on the diet of all people around the world.

structurally, the shelter can be reduced to a minimum in elements that are easy to manufacture and reproduce, such as a simple CNC plywood arch with standard plastic containers available as fill surface.

The current version of the structure is more personalized to take into account the solar orientation, air flow and various internal space programs.

A computer model was used to parametrically align all the individual containers to match the grooves of the arch. Each pre-ordered container has been modified to include ventilation screens, soft bags for insects, locally operated louvers and permeable power ports with rotating locking mechanisms.

The Wind Quill ventilation component amplifies the sound of cricket singing in columns of vibrant air. The aim of the architectural scheme is to eventually develop methods of sustainable food distribution through a compact architecture as part of a multi-pronged global strategy for international solutions against hunger and sustainable food distribution.



Cricket Burgers in America?

Introducing crickets to the modern American diet / European is not a simple task, but there is a precedent. for example, a few decades ago, Americans didn't want to eat raw fish. However, the positive change materialized after the introduction of sushi to a refined hygienic and cultured level.

These designers argue that the same type of approach must be built into cricket culture to achieve cleanliness, the quality and purity of the farm-to-fork system. Over two billion people eat insects every day; it is time to reintroduce them into the diet of the remaining population, they say.

Credits:

Project: Cricket Shelter – Modular insect farm.
Lieu: Brooklyn Navy Yard, New York
Date of completion: Avril 2016
Credits: Terreform ONE, Mitchell Joachim (principal investigator)
Maria Aiolova, Felipe Molina, Matthew Tarpley, Melanie Fessel, Jiachen Xu, Lissette Olivares, Cheto Castellano, Shandor Hassan, Christian Hamrick, Ivan Fuentealba, Sung Moon, Kamila Varela, Yucel Guven, Chloe Byrne, Miguel Lantigua-Name
Sponsor: Works of art for change
Photos: Mitchell Joachim, Terreform One.






Crédits Photos @ Terreform One
Mitchell Joachim (PI), Maria Aiolova, Melanie Fessel , Felipe Molina, Matthew Tarpley , Lachette olivares, Cheto Castellano, Shandor Hassan, Christian Hamrick, Ivan Fuentealba, Ivan Fuentealba, Sung Moon, Kamila Varela Yucel Guven, Chloé Byrne, Miguel Lantigua-Name, Alex Colard. Sponsor: Art Works for Change.



TerreForm One – Archinode



 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Cricket Shelter Prototype d’une Ferme modulaire pour insectes comestibles Terreform One (2016) – Brooklyn Navy Yard, New York
Virginie Maneval

Share Button



Un Prototype d’une Ferme modulaire pour insectes comestibles.



Les insectes sont une composante essentielle de notre écosystème et leur évolution naturelle constitue une source fascinante d’inspiration matérielle, comme nous l’avons vu cette semaine dans les travaux de Marlene Huissoud, mais aussi potentiellement une solution à notre crise alimentaire mondiale.

Le refuge de cricket est un nouveau projet à Brooklyn, dans l’État de New York, dont l’ensemble de la façade est consacrée à l’élevage de grillons pour la consommation humaine dans le cadre de la résolution du problème croissant de la distribution alimentaire dans le monde.

Conçu par Terreform ONE avec Mitchell Joachim en tant que principal pour Investigaor,

Cricket Shelter Est un abri à double usage et une ferme d’insectes modulaire délimitée en une seule structure. Selon ses concepteurs, il est destiné à la crise alimentaire imminente, où les gens auront besoin d’accéder à de bonnes sources de protéines alternatives, car l’élevage du bétail n’est pas possible à notre rythme actuel de consommation et d’extraction de ressources.

L’ONU a mandaté les protéines provenant d’insectes est un élément essentiel de la résolution des problèmes mondiaux de distribution de produits alimentaires. Cela a un impact sur le régime alimentaire de tous les peuples du monde.

Structurellement, l’abri peut être réduit au minimum en éléments faciles à fabriquer et à reproduire, tels qu’une simple arche en contreplaqué CNC avec des conteneurs en plastique standard disponibles comme surface de remplissage.

La version actuelle de la structure est davantage personnalisée pour tenir compte de l’orientation solaire, du flux d’air et de divers programmes spatiaux en interne.

Un modèle informatique a été utilisé pour aligner de manière paramétrique tous les conteneurs individuels afin qu’ils correspondent aux cannelures de l’arcade. Chaque conteneur pré-commandé a été modifié pour inclure des écrans de ventilation, des sacs souples pour insectes, des persiennes à commande locale et des ports d’alimentation perméables avec mécanismes de verrouillage rotatifs.

Le composant de ventilation Wind Quill amplifie le son du chant du cricket dans des colonnes d’air vibrant. L’objectif du schéma architectural est de développer à terme des méthodes de distribution durable de produits alimentaires à travers une architecture compacte dans le cadre d’une stratégie globale à plusieurs volets pour des solutions internationales contre la faim et une distribution alimentaire durable.



Burgers de cricket en Amérique?

L’introduction de grillons dans le régime alimentaire moderne américain / européen n’est pas une tâche simple, mais il existe un précédent. Par exemple, il y a quelques décennies, les Américains ne voulaient pas manger de poisson cru. Pourtant, le changement positif s’est concrétisé après l’introduction du sushi à un niveau d’hygiène et de culture raffiné.

Ces concepteurs soutiennent que le même type d’approche doit être intégré à la culture du grillon pour obtenir la propreté, la qualité et la pureté du système de la ferme à la table. Plus de deux milliards de personnes mangent des insectes chaque jour; il est temps de les réintroduire dans le régime alimentaire de la population restante, disent-ils.

Crédits:

Projet: Cricket Shelter – Ferme d’insectes modulaire.
Lieu: Brooklyn Navy Yard, New York
Date de réalisation: Avril 2016
Crédits: Terreform ONE, Mitchell Joachim (chercheur principal)
Maria Aiolova, Felipe Molina, Matthew Tarpley, Mélanie Fessel, Jiachen Xu, Lissette Olivares, Cheto Castellano, Shandor Hassan, Christian Hamrick, Ivan Fuentealba, Sung Moon, Kamila Varela, Yucel Guven, Chloe Byrne, Miguel Lantigua-Inoa
Commanditaire: Des œuvres d’art pour le changement
Photos: Mitchell Joachim, Terreform One.






Crédits Photos @ Terreform One
Mitchell Joachim (PI), Maria Aiolova, Mélanie Fessel , Felipe Molina, Matthew Tarpley , Lachette Olivares, Cheto Castellano, Shandor Hassan, Christian Hamrick, Ivan Fuentealba, Ivan Fuentealba, Sung Moon, Kamila Varela Yucel Guven, Chloé Byrne, Miguel Lantigua-Inoa, Alex Colard. Commanditaire: Art Works for Change.



TerreForm One – Archinode



 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *