bubble Wheel (1998-1999) LONDON EYE (2000) London, Britain

Share Button


THE LONDON EYE (1998-1999)

https://www.londoneye.com/private-capsules/



The London Eye is located at the western end of Jubilee Gardens
(formerly the site of the former Dome of Discovery ),

on the south bank of the Thames, between Westminster Bridge and Hungerford Bridge,
in the London Borough of Lambeth.











Le London Eye (Eye of London), also known as the Millennium Wheel , has a height of 135 meters is currently the tallest Ferris wheel in Europe. It is located in the center of London on the South Bank of the Thames, near Westminster Bridge.
The construction of the Ferris wheel was 1998. The 10 October 1999, building was erected. The opening for visitors delayed due to technical problems 9 Mars 2000. The inventor had submitted their idea to a competition for the Millennium celebrations, where it was rejected. The London Eye should have a limited time to run about five years from. Given the great success, it was scrapped.


Characteristics:
Le London Eye a 32 air conditioning, almost entirely made of glass gondolas, each containing up 25 people. Glass gondolas are supported in two rotating rings, so that the gondolas are always in the horizontal direction. The cable cars are in’ outside of the wheel, allowing almost unrestricted views. The wheel rotated at a speed of 0,26 m / s and needs a revolution about 30-40 minutes. Since the wheel is almost never stops, passengers down while driving and (stops to allow. Example, wheelchair users to start). Due to the low speed of the passenger change is possible while driving. It is driven by four units, each with four wheels / tires which place’ focus on the wheel rim and rotating. Generally, Therefore the wheels 4×4 = 16 drive. If visibility is optimal, you can see the Ferris wheel up 40 km wide, including the right to close’ outside London , Windsor Castle.


Design and construction:
The Ferris wheel was designed by architects David Marks et Julia Barfield designed. The design of the gondolas is from Nick Bailey . The construction was carried out by the Dutch construction company Hollandia. The rotation axis and a face, oblique tube support and clamping elements have been delivered by the Czech engineering company Skoda. The capsules and the stabilization system derived from French Sigma. The disc was provided by the subsidiary Bosch Rexroth. The 10 September 1999, specialized Dutch company Smit Tak with’ one of the largest floating cranes in the world tried to erect the assembled elongated London Eye, but the attempt failed. Only a month later , the wheel was initially built around 60 degrees. It took a week to lift it to its final position.


Operator:
Merlin Entertainments Group owns and operates the Ferris wheel, it has sponsored since 2011 EDF Energy . At the opening in 1999 , it was still part of the Tussauds Group, British Airways and Marks Barfield Architects family together. 2006 Tussaud acquired the shares of other shareholders and 2007 , then she – even taken by Merlin.


Classification:
Currently, it is the third largest observation wheel in the world. Until 4 January 2004, The London Eye was the tallest Ferris wheel in the world, but was brought up with a new Ferris wheel 160 meters, the "Star of Nanchang» Nanchang, China replaced, in turn, with the opening of the Singapore Flyer to March 1 2008 was replaced as the world's largest observation wheel.



 





PANORAMIC London Eye 360°



 


 




 



 










 








Meccano du London Eye





Model built by Alan Wenbourne



 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

One thought on “bubble Wheel (1998-1999) LONDON EYE (2000) London, Britain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Bulle Roue (1998-1999) LONDON EYE (2000) Londres, Grande Bretagne
Virginie Maneval

Share Button


THE LONDON EYE  (1998-1999)

https://www.londoneye.com/private-capsules/



Le London Eye se trouve à l’extrémité ouest de Jubilee Gardens
(auparavant le site de l’ancien Dome of Discovery ),

sur la rive sud de la Tamise, entre le pont de Westminster et Hungerford Bridge,
dans l’arrondissement londonien de Lambeth.











Le London Eye (Eye of London), également connu sous le Millennium Wheel , est d’une hauteur de 135 mètres actuellement la plus haute grande roue en Europe. Il se trouve dans le centre de Londres sur la rive sud de la Tamise, près de Westminster Bridge.
La construction de la grande roue était en 1998. Le 10 Octobre 1999, la construction a été érigée. L’ouverture pour les visiteurs retardé en raison de problèmes techniques jusqu’au 9 Mars 2000. L’inventeur avait soumis leur idée à un concours pour les célébrations du millénaire, où il a été rejeté. Le London Eye devrait avoir un temps limité pour faire fonctionner environ cinq ans au départ. Étant donné le grand succès, il a été mis au rebut.


Caractéristiques:
Le London Eye a 32 air conditionné, presque entièrement formé de gondoles de verre, chacun contenant jusqu’à 25 personnes. Les gondoles de verre sont prises en charge dans deux anneaux rotatifs, de sorte que les gondoles sont toujours dans le sens horizontal. Les télécabines sont à l’ extérieur de la roue, ce qui permet une vue presque sans restriction. La roue tourne à une vitesse de 0,26 m/s et a besoin d’une révolution à environ 30-40 minutes. Étant donné que la roue s’arrête presque jamais, les passagers descendre pendant la conduite et un (arrêts pour permettre. Exemple, les utilisateurs de fauteuil roulant pour commencer). En raison de la faible vitesse du changement de passager est possible pendant la conduite. Il est entraîné par quatre unités, chacune avec quatre roues / pneus qui mettent l’ accent sur la jante de roue et en le tournant. Dans l’ensemble, donc les roues 4×4 = 16 d’entraînement. Si la visibilité est optimale, vous pouvez voir la grande roue de jusqu’à 40 km de large, y compris à la proximité juste à l’ extérieur de Londres , le château de Windsor.


Conception et construction:
La grande roue a été conçu par les architectes David Marks et Julia Barfield conçus. La conception des gondoles est de Nick Bailey . La construction a été réalisée par la société de construction néerlandaise Hollandia. L’axe de rotation et une face, oblique support de tubes et les éléments de serrage ont été livrés par la société d’ingénierie tchèque Skoda. Les capsules et le système de stabilisation dérivé de la société française Sigma. Le disque a été fourni par la filiale Bosch Rexroth. Le 10 Septembre 1999, la société spécialisée néerlandaise Smit-Tak avec l’ une des plus grandes grues flottantes dans le monde a essayé d’ériger la roue assemblée allongée du London Eye, mais la tentative a échoué. Seulement un mois plus tard , la roue a été initialement construit autour de 60 degrés. Il a fallu une semaine pour le soulever dans sa position finale.


Opérateur:
Le Merlin Entertainments Group possède et exploite la grande roue, il a parrainé depuis 2011 par EDF Energy . A l’ouverture en 1999 , il faisait encore partie du groupe Tussauds, British Airways et la famille d’architectes Marks Barfield ensemble. 2006 Tussaud a acquis les actions des autres actionnaires et en 2007 , puis elle – même repris par Merlin.


Classification:
À l’heure actuelle, il est la troisième plus grande roue d’observation du monde. Jusqu’au 4 Janvier 2004, le London Eye était la plus haute grande roue du monde, mais a été élevé avec une nouvelle grande roue de 160 mètres, le « Star of Nanchang » à Nanchang, la Chine a remplacé, à son tour, avec l’ouverture de la Singapore Flyer au premier mars 2008 a été remplacé comme la plus grande roue d’observation du monde.



 





VUE PANORAMIQUE du London Eye 360° 



 


 




 



 










 








Meccano du London Eye





Modèle construit par Alan Wenbourne 



 

Share Button
 

Commentaire

Bulle Roue (1998-1999) LONDON EYE (2000) Londres, Grande Bretagne — Un commentaire

  1. Ping : Bulle Tower Marks Barfield – BA de i360 (2006 – 2016) Brighton, Grande-Bretagne, Royaume-Uni | BubbleMania

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *