The Bubble Series, Melvin Sokolsky 1963

Share Button


This exhibition of black and white photographs,
in color presents the work in 1963 the Melvin Sokolsky

Melvin SokolskyMelvin Sokolsky (1933)

https://youtu.be/6cfLRtnSKos


Melvin Sokolsky n & rsquo; had no formal photographic training, but used box camera his father at the & rsquo; age of ten. In the early 1960, he was a popular fashion photographer, inspired by Hieronymus Bosch's Garden of Earthly Delights and transparent globes alongside the form of & rsquo; a Faberge egg, decided to & rsquo; imagine a series of bubbles, for Bazaar 1963 Collection Spring Harper.


His original work marked the transition of fashion photography stilted and predictable of late 1950 the inventive and experimental work that characterized the sixties photographs. He was only 21 when he began working for Harper's Bazaar for which he produced the series “Bubble” photographs depicting floating fashion models in giant bubbles clear plastic suspended in the air above the Seine in Paris. Alongside his regular collaboration with Bazaar.


The bubble was produced within ten days, Plexiglas with parts d & rsquo; aluminum aircraft for articulated rings and Melvin Sokolsky launched Simone d & rsquo model Aillencourt in its space as engine, despite the mockery of Richard Avedon.


New York bubbles series, New York 1963

“Fashion in a Bubble” Harper’s Bazaar Photo.



As we & rsquo; watching New York behind, the model is wearing a orange dress floating in a dream image that would make the magazine cover while d & rsquo; other photographs taken in Paris, still in the bubble, diffuse a futuristic feel that contrasts with classic clothes.








paris001




 




image search results for & quot; melvin Sokolsky"


77441_001.tif2


77337_031.tif2





77337_025.tif


 




Bonus !



Published on 14 September 2017

Jennifer Aniston covers the number & rsquo; October 2017

Harper & rsquo magazine; s Bazaar photographed by Mariano Vivanco.

L & rsquo; actress Jennifer Aniston returns to the pages of Harper & rsquo; s Bazaar US in December / January with shooting of Melvin Sokolsky fashion photographer . Styling is courtesy of Joanna Hillman fashion designer.





 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The Bubble Series, Melvin Sokolsky 1963
Virginie Maneval

Share Button


Cette exposition de photographies en noir et blanc et
en couleur présente le travail en 1963 de Melvin Sokolsky 

Melvin SokolskyMelvin Sokolsky (1933)


Melvin Sokolsky n’avait aucune formation photographique formelle, mais utilisait la boîte caméra de son père dès l’âge de dix ans. Au début des années 1960, il était un photographe de mode populaire qui, inspiré par le jardin de Hieronymus Bosch de Earthly Delights et ses globes transparents aux côtés de la forme d’un œuf de Fabergé, a décidé d’imaginer une série de bulles, pour Bazaar 1963 Collection Printemps du Harper.


Son travail original a marqué la transition de la photographie de mode guindée et prévisible de la fin des années 1950 au travail inventif et expérimental qui a caractérisé les photographies des années soixante. Il avait seulement 21 ans quand il a commencé à travailler à Harper Bazaar pour lequel il réalise la série « Bubble » des photographies représentant des modèles de mode flottant dans des bulles géantes en plastique transparent en suspension dans les airs au-dessus de la Seine à Paris. Parallèlement à sa collaboration régulière avec Bazaar.


La bulle a été produite dans les dix jours, en Plexiglas avec des parties d’avions en aluminium pour les anneaux articulés et Melvin Sokolsky a lancé le modèle Simone d’Aillencourt dans son moteur spatial comme, en dépit de la moquerie de Richard Avedon.


 Série de bulles sur New York, New York 1963

« La Mode dans une Bulle »  Harper’s Bazaar Photo.



Comme nous l’observons de New-York derrière, le modèle porte une robe orange flottante dans une image de rêve qui ferait la couverture du magazine tandis que d’autres photographies prises à Paris, toujours dans la bulle, diffusent une sensation futuriste qui contraste avec les vêtements classiques.








paris001




 




Résultat de recherche d'images pour "melvin sokolsky"


77441_001.tif2


77337_031.tif2





77337_025.tif


 




Bonus !



Publié le 14 septembre 2017

Jennifer Aniston couvre le numéro d’octobre 2017

du magazine Harper’s Bazaar photographié par Mariano Vivanco.

L’actrice Jennifer Aniston revient sur les pages de Harper’s Bazaar US en décembre/janvier avec un shooting du photographe de mode Melvin Sokolsky . Styling est une gracieuseté de la styliste de mode Joanna Hillman.





 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *